Daesrath, Chattergoon named in OSCL team for New York Cup

first_imgFormer Guyana First-Class skipper Damodar Daesrath and ex-Guyana and West Indies youth player Hemnarine Chattergoon have been named in the Ontario Softball Cricket League (OSCL) team for the forthcoming New York Cup slated for three consecutive days (June 29-July 1).Teams from Canada, New York, Guyana and Florida are set to participate at the 12th edition, and some keen contests are highly predicted as a large number of high-profileDamodar Daesrathsoftball players will be on show in both the Open and Masters’ categories.Daesrath, who represented his adopted country Canada also at the highest level, featured in the tournament previously playing for other teams while Chattergoon, who as well wore the Canadian national colours at the senior level, will be looking to make an impression.Several other players have represented Guyana and Canada in hardball cricket. Riaz Kadir and Raja Pooran are in the lineup to play for OSCL while Berbician Aftab Shamsudeen, who played for Canada at the international level, is included.Assistant manager of the team, Canada-based Guyanese Bobby Ramlagan is pleased with the selection and is very optimistic the players will create a big impact on their first outing representing the OSCL.With the reintroduction of white ball cricket in the OSCL’s various competitions this season, Ramlagan mentioned the guys were more equipped now to compete against these quality teams. Ramlagan, who was born in Wakenaam, also expressed that a captain would beHemnarine Chattergoonnamed just before the competition starts. He further related that preparation for this mega softball tournament was very crucial and the team were set to have done that before proceedings begin in the United States of America. Veteran Sports Journalist and OSCL’s Secretary/Public Relations Officer, Frederick Halley is the manager. Ramlagan is also an executive member of OSCL in the position of Assistant Secretary/Treasurer.The full squad reads: Damodar Daesrath, Riaz Kadir, Hemnarine Chattergoon, Rabindra Diaram, Anil Ramotar, Yadram Bohj, Aftab Shamsudeen, Bolanauth Sukhu, Zaheer Allard, Muniram Karran, Ravin Babulall, Anand Monelall, Shah Mahabir, Fizul Haniff, and Raja Pooran.last_img read more

Read More