Spring Convocation to feature first grads from new PhD and Masters programs

During Spring Convocation ceremonies, June 7 to 10, Brock University will celebrate Master’s and PhD students for their academic and research excellence.A total of 411 graduate degrees — 16 PhD, 395 Master’s — will be conferred.Justin Maltese, a MSc student in Computer Science, will receive the prestigious Governor General’s Gold Medal for achieving the highest academic standing at the graduate level. Maltese, of Hamilton, attained a 98.5 average.Spring Convocation will mark the first graduates from the PhD program in Interdisciplinary Humanities and from the Master’s program in Sustainability Science and Society.Both programs have been at the forefront of the University’s directions to build transdisciplinary studies and research activities.Brock established the Interdisciplinary Humanities doctoral program in 2011. The program brings together faculty and students from different disciplines across the University to collaborate on research questions from a variety of perspectives.The graduate program in Sustainability Science and Society (SSAS) was launched in 2014. The program provides students an opportunity to study the social, economic, political, and biophysical challenges and to consider new ways of thinking about environmental sustainability.“It’s always a landmark event for newer programs to celebrate the convocation of their first students,” says Mike Plyley, Dean of the Faculty of Graduate Studies. “These students are like flagbearers. They signify a program’s wider impact as its students move forward to contribute their knowledge, creativity and skills in their field or through other academic and research pursuits.”This convocation also holds special significance for Plyley as he completes his term as Dean on June 30.“Convocation days are one of the best days on the job for a Dean,” Plyley says. “I’ve had the privilege to congratulate thousands of graduate students over the past five years. Watching our students cross the stage to accept their master’s or doctoral degrees provides you with a strong indication of the force of their potential in a world that will look to them to make society stronger and better. For a Dean, those are the times when you say to yourself that it just doesn’t get any better than this.”2016 Convocation awards to Brock graduate studentsGovernor General’s Gold Medal:Justin Maltese, Computer ScienceJack M. Miller Excellence in Research AwardsThe FGS announces a list of Miller award recipients each year. At the time of graduation, students are given special recognition for the achievement. The following is a list of Miller award recipients who will be acknowledged at Spring Convocation.Spring 2016 ConvocationDimitrios Alexandropoulos, ChemistryWilliam John Gittings, Applied Health SciencesMalisa Kurtz, Interdisciplinary HumanitiesStefon Jan Ross van Noordt, PsychologyZahid Mohammad Rahman, ManagementPhillip Wallace, Applied Health SciencesDistinguished Graduate Student AwardDimitrios Alexandropoulos, ChemistryMichael Ayerh K Ayertey, GeographyMatilda Baptist, BiotechnologyAllan Campopiano, PsychologyCorey Jonathan Carlton, Business EconomicsKevin Daniel Caslin, PhysicsAndrew Cheesman, PhysicsAlison Edge, BiotechnologyWhitney Evans, Political ScienceRenee Marie Henriette Girard, HistoryChristopher Scott Grawey, Critical SociologySteven Greenwood, EnglishWade Alexander Hunt, PhilosophyNaomi Johnson, Applied Disabilities StudiesMalisa Kurtz, Interdisciplinary HumanitiesJeff Lakeit, Comparative Literatures and ArtsJustin Peter Maltese, Computer ScienceMolly McMeekin, ClassicsKaitlin Louisa McNeill, Applied Disability StudiesMax Cale Merilovich, Biological SciencesJoel Midgley-Volpato, Mathematics and StatisticsSamantha Lynne Julianne Morris, Sustainability: Science and SocietyLi Mou, Business AdministrationEwelina Kinga Niemczyk, Educational StudiesMatthew Peter Casimir Nikitczuk, Earth SciencesKiel Graham Ormerod, Biological SciencesPanagiota Perlepe, ChemistryIrene Podolak, Applied Health SciencesStephanie Simoes, PhilosophyZipparah Eileen Stephenson, Social Justice and Equity StudiesKimberley Caitlin Tsujimoto, Child and Youth StudiesRebecca Lynn Vos, Applied LinguisticsJennifer R. Weiler, EducationNarnia Christine Worth, PsychologyHaiyue Xu, ManagementMichelle Zahradnik, Applied Health SciencesSpirit of Brock awardsJoshua Bowslaugh, Applied Health SciencesKatlynne Smith, EducationRegan Fitzgerald, Goodman School of BusinessMalisa Kurtz, HumanitiesChimaobi Amadi, Mathematics and ScienceAntwi Boasiako, Social SciencesJack Noble Book PrizesJennifer R. Weiler, EducationDr. Michael Kompf Book PrizesAssuntina Del Gobbo, EducationGoodman Graduation AwardMarion Elizabeth Beckett, Business AdministrationNeil Patrick Bourque, Business AdministrationRegan Mckenzie Fitzgerald, Business AdministrationManuel Gloger, ManagementSunayana Gopal, Business AdministrationWenyan Gu, AccountancyJake Paul James Haskell, AccountancyJordan Molzan, AccountancyLi Mou, Business AdministrationAbdul Rashed Rahimi, Business AdministrationZahid Mohammad Rahman, ManagementMartinus Benny Setya, Business AdministrationLixiong Wang, Business AdministrationYichun Wang, AccountancyHaoxing Wu, AccountancyAmik Zeshan, Business Administration read more

Read More